Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-18 - 2:38 p.m.

So, I've been thinking about the Vote for Change tour, specifically the right-wing lunatic rantings calling for a "Boycott the Boss" movement. Now, how anyone could listen to Bruce Springsteen and not know his political leanings is beyond me, so I'm amazed at all the histrionics.

But the thing that really gets me is when they start saying that celebrities should just shut the fuck up when it comes to politics. I used to think this view was incredibly cynical--celebrities are too vacuous, or too out of touch with the rest of the world to have *real* political opinions, or they are using their positions to advance extreme political views. But now, I'm tempted to say that celebrities really should stay out of politics....

...After all, wouldn't the world have been a better place if Ronald Reagan had never been president? :)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!