Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

2004-08-26 - 10:13 a.m.

Via Rox Populi I was alerted to this gem. Apparently, the RNC is planning a star*-studded convention in NYC. Funny how they only complain about celebrities and politics when they are Democrats.

So, I got to thinkin'--since we are a culture obsessed with celebrity and fame, which of the candidates has the "better" guest list at their little soirees? So, kind reader, I've compiled a handy list, alphabetically ordered, for your enjoyment. By the way, I found the names for said list by using a Scientifically Rigorous and Methodological Approach�: I googled "Celebrities for Kerry" and "Celebrities for Bush" and read the first ten articles. I know, I know, humble reader, my research prowess astounds even me...

USTHEM
Al FrankenArnold Schwarzenegger
Alec BaldwinAngie Harmon
Barbra StriesandBo Derek
Ben AffleckBritney Spears
Ben HarperBrooks & Dunn
Benicio del ToroDarryl Worley
Black Eyed PeasDexter Freebish
Blink-182Don King
Bonnie RaittDonnie McClurkin
BonoFreddie Prinze, Jr.**
Bright EyesGatlin Brothers
Bruce SpringsteenGracie Rosenburger
Chevy ChaseJaci Valasquez
Courteney CoxJessica Simpson
Crosby, Stills & NashKelsey Grammer
Danny DeVitoKid Rock
Dave MatthewsLee Greenwood
Death Cab for CutieLee Ann Womack
Dixie ChicksMichael W. Smith
Emmylou HarrisStephen Baldwin
Harvey WeinsteinThird Day
Jack JohnsonWayne Newton
Jackson Browne
James Taylor
Janeane Garofalo
Jessica Lange
John Mellencamp
John Sayles
Jon Bon Jovi
Jon Stewart
Jurassic 5
Kate Capshaw
Keb' Mo'
Leonardo DiCaprio
Martin Sheen
Mary J. Blige
Matt Damon
Meryl Streep
Michael Moore
My Morning Jacket
P. Diddy
Pearl Jam
Quincy Jones
REM
Rob Reiner
Robert Redford
Sarah Jessica Parker
Scarlett Johansson
Sean Penn
Sheryl Crow
Steven Spielberg
Viggo Moretensen
Whoppie Goldberg
Wyclef Jean

Hmmm...not much more to add to that (other than to note that there are quite a few Jessicas on the list!). Although, I did encounter a slight problem with my Scientifically Rigorous and Methodological Approach�. Two of the articles Google pulled up for "Celebrities for Bush" were Celebrities Declare Own War on Bush and an article quoting Morrissey as saying "Bush should have died, not Reagan."

Postscript: I am not suggesting that your decision to vote for a candidate should be based on her/his celebrity backers. What I am saying is that perhaps:

    a.) the Republicans have a "cool" problem (i.e., the lack of it), and

    b.) they are a wee-bit jealous that John Kerry gets to chill with Ben Affleck, and they are stuck with Kelsey Grammer and his latest trophy wife.

    -----

    *assuming star means someone you've never heard of.

    ** Noooooo!!!! Not Mr. Buffy!!