Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-30 - 10:41 a.m.

I've been singing Laurie Anderson's Beautiful Red Dress all day today. Why you ask? Well, because I read this:

    For every dollar a man made in 2003, women made 75.5 cents, the Census Bureau said in its annual report on income. That was down from the record 76.6 cents that women earned vs. men's $1 in 2002. The median income for men working full time in 2003 was $40,668, not significantly different from the prior year, while the median income for women working full time was $30,724, down 0.6% from 2002.

It's like Laurie said:

    "You know, for every dollar a man makes a woman makes 63 cents. Now, fifty years ago that was 62 cents. So, with that kind of luck, it�ll be the year 3888 before we make a buck."

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!