Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-08 - 10:33 a.m.

I'm suffering from outrage fatigue. There is no other explanation. I watched Bush give his acceptance speech, and I sat there--numb. For seemingly the first time in my life, I am simply unable to muster up the energy to be angry. In fact, it has been nearly a week since the speech, and this is the first time I'm even bothering to mention that it took place. It's a sad day in Annamaria-land.

So, once again, I'm going to allow someone else's words to speak for me. Enjoy these, some of my favorite quotes, and maybe both you and I can be inspired to keep fighting for at least the next two months. I'm crossing my fingers...

  • Those who make you believe absurdities, can make you commit atrocities.
    --Voltaire
  • A patriot must be ready to defend his country against his government.
    --Edward Abbey

  • Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.
    --Albert Einstein

  • Sometimes I feel like a fire hydrant staring at a pack of dogs.
    --Bill Clinton
  • You measure democracy by the freedom it gives is dissidents, not the freedom is gives its assimilated conformists.
    --Abbie Hoffman
  • Those who vote decide nothing. Those who count the votes decide everything.
    --Joseph Stalin
  • Relgion is what keeps the poor from murdering the rich.
    --Napoleon Bonaparte
  • Speak your mind, even if your voice shakes.
    --Maggie Kuhn
  • Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed individuals can change the world; indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.
    --Margaret Mead
  • I love my country so much man
    Like an exasperating friend.

    --Mike Doughty
  • previous - next

    about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!